The municipal forest © Stefan Cop

The municipal forest

The “green” growth region

Old oak trees in the municipal forest © Stefan Cop

Frankfurt owns one of the largest municipal woodland areas in Germany – some 6,000 hectares. The tree species can be divided into 34 per cent oak, 31 per cent beech, 29 per cent pine and 6 per cent spruce and Douglas pines; most of them are between 40 and 60 years old. The annual logging intensity corresponds to roughly half the growth and complies with the principle of sustainability, i.e. not taking out more than is growing back. The forestry ­practices in the municipal forest make a substantial contribution to biotope and species conservation.

In 1993, 3,797 hectares of Frankfurt’s municipal forest was declared a protected forest which enjoys the highest protection possible under Hesse’s Forestry Act. A large part of the municipal forest is a designated climate, emission and water conservation area. The entire forest is a landscape protection area. Nineteen per cent of the forest area is a protected natural habitat in accordance with the NATURA 2000 Directives.

In addition, there are 4,600 hectares of recreational woodland. A network of round 420 km of routes through the forest, including 157 km of signposted cycling and hiking tracks, are an invitation to people seeking relaxation and recreation to go walking, rambling, jogging or cycling. There are also 96 km of routes for horse riders. The municipal forest is an important recreational area in Frankfurt’s GreenBelt.

Motorway in the municipal forest © Stadtvermessungsamt Frankfurt

The ecosystem is put under pressure because the municipal forest is criss-crossed with roads, is located close to the airport and is popular with recre­ation seekers. Since the municipal forest was acquired in 1372, when it covered 1,077 hectares, around one-seventh of the area has been lost to construction, sports stadiums, airport extensions, and rail and road routes. To ensure the long-term preservation of the forest, its surface area cannot be encroached on any further and the last connected sections of the forest must not be cut across by roads.

Despite substantial efforts, damage to the forest still occurs. Air pollutants and the withdrawal of water by the city place a considerable burden on the ­forest. Interregional measures to reduce environmental damage and to keep the forest alive and stable thus assume greater importance.

A place to visit

The StadtWaldHaus

The StadtWaldHaus © Stefan Cop

Since 1976, PR work for Frankfurt’s ­municipal forest has focused on the former pheasantry near the Ober­schwein­stiege. In 1995 a new forestry and ecology information centre was opened on the site of the former pheasantry – the StadtWaldHaus.

The unusual building has two counterposed, planted monopitch roofs and an oak trunk topped by an observation platform extending up through the middle. It houses a woodland exhi­bition where visitors can take part in activities that help to develop an understanding of the life of a tree and the woodland wildlife community. The StadtWaldHaus is an important learning point in Frankfurt’s GreenBelt.

www.stadtwaldhaus-frankfurt.de
www.umweltlernen-frankfurt.de

Contact addresses
Find out more

Preserving biodiversity

In Protected natural habitats have been established throughout Europe to protect specific rare species and their habitats. In Frankfurt’s municipal forest, the Schwanheimer Wald and the Frankfurter Oberwald are designated protected natural habitats.

Stadtwald © Stefan Cop

Der Stadtwald

Die „grüne“ Wachstumsregion

Alteichen im Stadtwald © Stefan Cop

Frankfurt besitzt mit rund 6.000 Hektar eine der größten kommunalen Waldflächen in Deutschland. Die Baum­arten verteilen sich auf 34 Prozent ­Eiche, 31 Prozent Buche, 29 Prozent Kiefer sowie 6 Prozent Fichte und Douglasie mit einem Schwerpunkt in der ­Altersklasse von 40 bis 60 Jahren. Der jährliche Holzeinschlag liegt bei rund der Hälfte des Zuwachses und erfüllt das Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit, nicht mehr einzuschlagen als nachwächst. Der im Stadtwald praktizierte naturnahe Waldbau leistet einen großen Beitrag zum Biotop- und Artenschutz.

Im Jahr 1993 wurden 3.797 Hektar des Frankfurter Stadtwaldes zu Bannwald erklärt, der den höchsten nach dem Hessischen Forstgesetz möglichen Schutz genießt. Ein Großteil des Stadtwaldes ist als Klima-, Immissions- und Wasserschutzwald ausgewiesen. Der komplette Wald ist Landschaftsschutzgebiet. 19 Prozent der Waldfläche sind Fauna-Flora-Habitat-Gebiet gemäß der NATURA-2000-Richtlinien.

Hinzu kommen 4.600 Hektar Erholungswald. Ein rund 420 km großes Wald­wegenetz, davon 157 km ausgewiesene Rad- und Wanderwege, lädt Erholungssuchende zum Spazieren­gehen, Wandern, Joggen und Radfahren ein. Darüber hinaus gibt es 96 km Reitwege. Der Stadtwald ist als Teil des Frankfurter GrünGürtels ein wichtiges Naherholungsgebiet.

Autobahn im Stadtwald © Stadtvermessungsamt Frankfurt

Die starke Zerschneidung des Stadtwaldes durch Verkehrstrassen, die Lage im Einzugsbereich des Flughafens und die Beanspruchung durch Erholungssuchende belasten insgesamt das Öko­system. Seit dem Erwerb des Stadtwalds im Jahr 1372 ist mit 1.077 Hektar rund ein Siebtel des Waldes durch Bebauung, Sportstätten, Flughafen­er­wei­terungen, Eisenbahnen und Auto­bah­nen verloren gegangen. Um den Wald langfristig zu erhalten, darf seine Fläche nicht weiter beschnitten werden, und die letzten zusammenhängen­den Waldstücke dürfen nicht durch neue Verkehrstrassen zerrissen werden.

Trotz intensiver Bemühungen bleiben Waldschäden nicht aus. Luftschadstoffe und Wasserentzug durch die Stadt belasten den Wald in erheblichem Maße. Umso wichtiger sind überregionale Maßnahmen, um schädliche Umwelteinflüsse zu verringern und den Wald vital und stabil zu erhalten.

Standort

Das StadtWaldHaus

StadtWaldHaus © Stefan Cop

Die ehemalige Fasanerie in der Nähe der Oberschweinstiege ist seit 1976 Mittelpunkt der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit des Frankfurter Stadtwalds. 1995 wurde auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Fasanerie ein neues forstlich-ökologisches Informationszentrum eingeweiht: das StadtWaldHaus.

Das außergewöhnliche Gebäude mit seinen zwei gegeneinander versetzten, begrünten Pultdächern, aus deren Mitte sich ein Eichenstamm mit einer Aussichtsplattform erhebt, beherbergt eine Waldausstellung, in der sich die Be­sucherinnen und Besucher durch eigene Aktivitäten ein Verständnis für das Leben des Baumes und die Lebensgemeinschaft Wald „erarbeiten“ können. Das StadtWaldHaus ist ein wichtiger Lernort im Frankfurter GrünGürtel.

www.stadtwaldhaus-frankfurt.de
www.umweltlernen-frankfurt.de

Kontakt
Mehr lesen

Biologische Vielfalt erhalten

In Flora-Fauna-Habitat-Gebieten (FFH) sollen bestimmte seltene und selten gewordene Arten, aber auch ihre Lebensräume europaweit geschützt werden. Im Frankfurter Stadtwald sind der Schwanheimer Wald und der Frankfurter Oberwald zu FFH-Gebieten ausgewiesen.