Air pollutants

 

Particulate matter

Particulate matter (PM10) consists of tiny floating particles with a diameter of up to 10 micrometres (µm). The dust particles do not all have the same chemical composition. High concentrations of particulate matter are harmful to the health of people living and working in cities.

Particulate matter consists of minute particles that enter the organism as we breathe. This can cause coronary and circulatory problems, respiratory diseases and even lung cancer.

Diagram Sources of particulate matter emissions – Friedberger Landstrasse
Sources of particulate matter emissions – Friedberger Landstrasse (Click on the diagram for an enlarged view)

Of the particulate matter measured on the Friedberger Landstrasse, 26 per cent comes from the exhaust fumes emitted by diesel-powered vehicles. Diesel exhaust emissions frequently contain very fine particles that are ­especially harmful to human health. Some 23 per cent of them are caused by abrasion and resuspension processes. Industrial activity, biogenic sources and building heating also make a substantial contribution to particulate matter pollution. Air traffic is only a minor emitter of PM10.

The level of particulate matter pollution depends very much on the weather. For example, periods of low atmospheric pressure with fairly high air exchange rates and rain, which flushes the particles out, reduce the particle concentration in the atmosphere. When air exchange rates are low (inverse wea­ther conditions), which occurs frequently during the winter periods of high atmospheric pressure, particle concentration increases.

Since 2005, the daily mean value of 50 µg/mł may be exceeded on no more than 35 days each calendar year. This limit value was not exceeded in 2010.

What we are doing

Low exhaust buses

Frankfurt has been pioneering this area in Germany for a number of years. In tender procedures for the public transport service, the city insists on the use of buses that comply with the ­Enhanced Environmentally Friendly Vehicle (EEV) standard.

Vehicles powered by natural gas

In 2005, Frankfurt City Council decided to convert its fleet of urban vehicles to natural gas. The city administration and the municipal companies now have some 400 gas-powered vehicles in use.

Contact addresses
What we are doing

Low emission zone

In order to ensure long-term compliance with the limit for particulate matter, a low emission zone has been established in Frankfurt. More

Find out more

For further information on particulate matter pollution in Frankfurt, the effects on health, and measures included in the action plan for Frankfurt am Main, visit www.frankfurt.de

Sulphur dioxide and nitrogen dioxide

For information on pollution caused by sulphur dioxide (SO2) and nitrogen dioxide (NO2), click here.

Luftschadstoffe

 

Feinstaub

Bei Feinstaub (PM10 – Particulate Matter) handelt es sich um Schwebteilchen mit einem Durchmesser bis zu 10 Mikro­metern (µm). Die Staubpartikel ­haben keine einheitliche chemische Zusammensetzung. Hohe Feinstaubkonzentrationen gefährden die Gesundheit der in den Städten lebenden und arbeitenden Menschen.

Feinstäube sind Kleinstpartikel, die durch die Atmung in den Organismus eindringen. Gesundheitliche Effekte sind Herz-Kreislauf- und Atemwegserkrankungen bis hin zu Lungenkrebs.

Grafik Quellen der Feinstaubimmissionen (Friedberger Landstraße)
Quellen der Feinstaubimmissionen – Friedberger Landstraße (Klick auf die Grafik öffnet vergrößerte Darstellung)

Die in der Friedberger Landstraße gemessenen Feinstäube stammen zu 26 Prozent aus den Abgasen von Dieselfahrzeugen. Bei den Emissionen im Dieselabgas handelt es sich häufig um sehr kleine Partikel, die besonders gesundheitsschädlich sind. 23 Prozent werden durch Abrieb und Aufwirbelung verursacht. Die Industrie, biogene Quellen und Gebäudeheizungen tragen ebenfalls deutlich zur Feinstaubbelastung bei. Bei PM10 spielt der Flugverkehr als Emittent eine untergeordnete Rolle.
Die Höhe der Feinstaubbelastung ist sehr abhängig von der Wetterlage. So führen Tiefdruckwetterlagen mit höhe­rem Luftaustausch und Regen, der zur Auswaschung der Teilchen führt, zu einer Reduzierung der Partikel­kon­zentration in der Atmosphäre. Bei austauscharmen Wetterlagen (Inversionswetterlagen), die häufig im Winter bei hohem Luftdruck vorherrschen, kommt es zu einem Anstieg der Partikelkonzentration.

Seit 2005 darf der Tagesmittelwert von 50 µg/m³ maximal an 35 Tagen pro Kalenderjahr überschritten werden. Im Jahr 2010 wurde der Grenzwert eingehalten.

Maßnahmen

Abgasarme Omnibusse

Frankfurt hat seit Jahren eine bundesweite Vorreiterrolle: Bei Ausschreibun­gen im öffentlichen Nahverkehr fordert die Stadt den Einsatz von Bussen nach dem besonders umweltfreundlichen EEV-Standard.

Erdgasfahrzeuge

Im Jahr 2005 beschloss der Frankfurter Magistrat den städtischen Fuhrpark auf Erdgas umzustellen. Inzwischen sind bei der Stadtverwaltung und den städtischen Gesellschaften rund 400 Erdgasfahrzeuge im Einsatz.

Kontakt
Maßnahmen

Umweltzone

Um langfristig die Einhaltung des Grenzwerts für Feinstaub zu erreichen, wurde im Stadtgebiet von Frankfurt eine Umweltzone eingerichtet. Weiter

Mehr lesen

Weitere Informationen zur Belastung mit Feinstaub in Frankfurt, den Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit und zu Maßnahmen im Rahmen des Aktionsplans Frankfurt am Main finden Sie unter www.frankfurt.de

Schwefeldioxid (SO2) und Stickstoffdioxid (NO2)

Informationen zur Belastung durch Schwefeldioxid (SO2) und Stickstoffdioxid (NO2) finden Sie hier.